60 CS

Like most of you guys out there, I’m spending this week trying to get ready for the Mega-Weekend in Chicago.  I’m pretty much resorting to net decks because I’m going to get in roughly zero games of playtesting (give or take zero games).  While this strategy will almost ensure that I get no wins, I don’t care; I’m just going to have fun.  I will probably just use the hidden Injustice Gang deck despite the fact that it will be heavily teched against.  This deck will require little to no thinking, which is already more than I’m capable of!  If you’re going to be there, make sure to say, “Hi.”  I’d like to start putting faces to all your names.  I’ll probably be wearing a Green Lantern shirt (in case you haven’t noticed I’m a fan).  I’ll throw up a picture here, but don’t stare at it directly or you’ll go blind.  P.S. I don’t always look this silly… just in pictures.

Tara and me!

I’ve also got to give a shout-out this week.  Stu’s third edition of “Rallying Cry!” on vssystem.com was kind enough to mention Vs. Corps.  In doing so he gave me an excellent signature to add to the bottom of my posts: “Yes, Scott Thompson rocks.”  Well Stu, you rock as well.  Thanks for everything you do for Vs.  If you’re blog wasn’t so freaking deep I would comment on your entries.  As is, I feel like I would embarrass myself!  If you readers have no idea what I’m talking about, go check out the brilliance at fullbodytransplant.wordpress.com.  Here’s Stu reveling in the glory of Verses with a banana.  If only we could all be so easily amused… who am I kidding, kick yourself if this wouldn’t amuse you!

Stubarnes

 

The past week I’ve also gotten a couple of E-mails asking about why I’m only putting up stuff once a week.  Well there’s a simple answer to that… I’m lazy.  Actually, there’s a little more to it than that.  I work full-time; try to spend time at the gym every day (I’ve put on a few pounds); and spend the weekends with my smokin’ hot lady-friend (who will probably kill me for my choice of picture!).  It’s really a wonder that I can even get on here once a week!  I really do appreciate all the feedback you guys send my way though.  It helps me keep on trucking.

Now I suppose I better address the title of this article.  It all started when I realized my collection had grown waaaaay too large.  We had five or six five-row boxes packed with cards, and this was before Marvel Team-Up!  I decided to go through the collection and only keep eight of every common and uncommon (16 if they were army characters).  This drastically reduced my stack of cards.  Now, even after the release of DC Legends, I only have 3 five-row boxes of cards.  I no longer dread every time I need to move my collection!  This process did result in a ton of extra cards lying around so I decided to give them to my friends living up in St. Cloud.  They used to play the game, so now when I go up there we can still play without me having to bring a ton of preconstructed decks.

In my absence, my friends in St. Cloud used these cards to make up a format for Vs. that I thought I’d share with you.  They had all my extra commons and uncommons lying around, separated only by set.  One day, when they were too lazy to pick teams to construct decks around, they simply just grabbed stacks of cards and played (hence the name 60 CS or 60 Card Stack).  The cards they grabbed were all commons and uncommonsMetropolis from the same set, and shuffled pretty evenly.  They soon realized that the first person to draw into a couple of team-ups had a huge advantage.  To fix this they decided that each player’s first resource would be a Metropolis that could not be targeted by effects.  This also meant you started the game with an extra card as you would not have to lay a resource until turn two.  Other than that they played the game exactly as it would normally be played.  This format plays very similar to sealed, but you never know what you’re going to draw into because you are not allowed to look at your deck unless a card you play allows you to search your deck.  This really can lead to some randomly fun games, especially when you use risky effects like Lacuna’s without knowing if there’s a Marvel Team-Up in your deck!

Try 60 CS for yourself and I guarantee you’ll have some of the most entertaining Versus games of your lives.  I didn’t really get it when my friends first explained it to me, but after a game or two, I was eagerly trying to decide which set we should switch to next.  One of the odd things about 60 CS is that you’ll actually curve out  surprisingly well.  It’s almost like sets were designed to be giant decks!  However, if you do end up having a poor draw, you can rest easy in the fact that your opponent is equally likely to be sitting on a poor hand!  I really hope you guys try this out.  It’s a great way to get some use out of those old cards that have been relegated to Golden Age limbo.  As a side-note, my favorite sets to use are Marvel Knights and Infinite Crisis.

Have fun and I hope to see you guys at Chicago!

3 Responses

  1. It’s Saturday morning, Chicago dawns.

    Knock ’em dead!

  2. I think you did a good job not going 0-fer. imo.

  3. 60 CS for the mutha ####in win!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    imo.

Leave a Reply

