The Chosen One

The Ring may have chosen Hal Jordan of Vs. Corps banner fame; but he certainly isn’t the only chosen one out there.  That’s right, I’m talking about Buffy Summers of Sunnydale California, er… formerly of Sunnydale California.  It kind of imploded in the last season of the TV show.  Luckily for me though, the story lived on in one of my favorite mediums: Graphic Novels!  In my book, that’s all you need to get the Vs. TCG treatment.  After all, how cool was the Hellboy expansion.  A small set like that would be perfect for Buffy and Co.  In fact, I once made a thread about it on Vs. Realms.  I think it was the only thing I’ve ever been “repped” for.  Here’s the link:

http://vsrealms.com/forum/showthread.php?t=54387

I know Star Wars, a Dark Horse license, seems like an obvious choice for another Essential collection, as mentioned in another thread; but it doesn’t really fit the pseudo-fantasy realm of standard comic fare. Buffy the Vampire Slayer -recently starting it’s eight season in comic book form- on the other hand, does. It’s very similar to Hellboy in that our heroes and heroines are fighting demons from hell (or more accurately, the Hellmouth).

The license itself would be much easier to obtain than Star Wars (obviously), and I know a great deal of people who would buy into Versus just to take their Willow-Themed deck against every comic-book hero in printed form! Buffy obviously has a great cult fan-base, and this type of collection could be exactly the shot in the arm Versus needs.

Am I the only one that thinks this would be a sweet license to add to Versus? It’s possible, I do lead a pretty sheltered life. Let me know!

Buffy has already existed as a card game.  Formerly it was made by Score.  The biggest thing this long-dead game had going for it was the flavor.  It had so many cool tie-ins to the show and actually played out as close to an episode as you could expect from a card game.  It also had about the same amount of campy humor as the show.  The game only lasted a few expansions, but I was entertained enough by it to buy up a crapload of it dirt cheap at Gen Con a few years back.  I still get in a game every now and then, though my friend Rob has to re-teach me every time.  The game lives on through online virtual cards that people still make (similar to the Star Wars CCG), though a lot of them are over-powered.  The game had also sort of devolved into the card game “War” because people would play an “action” card for its numbers instead of for its text.

Anyway, it’s high time for me to make my own fantasy cards for Vs.  I’ve always wanted to, but never had the time.  Now, with the new leaked footage of the Buffy Animated Series found at the link below, my excitement has begun anew!

http://www.buffytheanimatedseries.com/

I’m going to enlist your help for this project.  I’m going to be making the cards throughout the week with your feedback.  Please submit any flavorful ideas for cards from the Buffy Season 8 comic in the comments section and I will try my best to make a card out of it.  Here are some ideas I’ve already thought of…

Buffy Summers could be a seven drop with a leader ability.  Heck, she runs an entire army now so she needs a leader ability!  Faith, our anti-hero slayer that’s near-equal to Buffy could be a six drop reservist that penalizes people around her (like those Arkham cards from the World’s Finest set).

Generic slayers and generic vampires could serve as army characters for the opposite decks, but we could still include slayers and vampires that serve bigger roles like Renee and Dracula.  Giles and Andrew are the researchers so they could serve as draw/filter/search cards like Barbara Gordon.

Xander Harris has already made reference to himself as Nicky Fury in the comic book, and he serves as a commander for Buffy, so he could throw out army slayers like Nick Fury from the Marvel Universe expansion.  Or he could give everyone +1 willpower, which would fit the theme of the show.  In the show he was constantly trying to find his place in the gang, and it was often explained that he was the heart, or humanizing character of the bunch.  So him “encouraging” characters on your board would be thematic.  This would also allow him to have the flavor text, “Give Will more power?!  Are you crazy?!”  It’s of course referring to Willow’s constant battle with her abilities and it just seems like something Xander would say!

Speaking of Willow, she could use magic plot twists like the Shadowpact team did.  Heck, there are a ton of magic users in Season 8, so a revisit to the magic theme would be perfect!  She would definately be the team’s eight drop.

Alright, the challenge is on.  I know at least four of the five people that actually read this blog like Buffy, so get thinking.  I don’t have the time to do this all by myself!  Thanks in advance!

10 Responses

  1. Xander, Whiny B!$%^
    Cost: 0
    ATK: 0
    DEF: 0

    To recruit, cut yourself.

    When Xander enters play, he sits in the corner and whines about everything imaginable. You lose the game.

  2. I think that’s Dawn’s card, but I know you put that specifically for Rob, so I’ll allow it. Serious suggestions now!

  3. I’ve had a Buffy essentials set in the back of my mind for a while now. I’ve even done some very preliminary work on it.

    I may have to dust this stuff off soon. 🙂

  4. I’m not creative enough to come up with real cards, but I’d love to see someone’s take on a Gentlemen card. Hush is my fav ep!

  5. lame, imo.

  6. dclebeau, I sure wouldn’t mind a joint effot! Also, Paul is lame imo.

  7. Is the Xander card suppose to be Bob after you and joel eat all the pumpkin pie?

  8. omg rofl eric imo

  9. Rob… I’ll make you your own Pumpkin Pie.

  10. It’s probably been a year since I put any serious effort into it. I know I still have all the original stuff I put together. I just don’t know if it’s any good or not 🙂

    I’ll take a look at it and get back to you. I think Seventh Soldier is a Buffy fan too. He may be interested in a little side work.

Leave a Reply

